It me Buddy working on my vocabulary…

up

down

cross

to far!!!

careful

leave it!!!

No word for this. I just liked it because it's my best side!

Going home. Sad.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by melissa on 02/25/2010 at 2:01 am

    That was a fun post, Buddy. You are lucky to get to go for a walk out in the “country” like that. You live in a pretty area. You look like you are probably bigger than your sister, Darbs. She only weights 28.5 pounds…which is a nice size for a girl Corgi, I think.

    Take care, Bud! Watch out for those tumbleweeds.

    Melissa

    Reply

  2. Posted by Play it Again Sam on 02/25/2010 at 12:07 pm

    Hi,

    Sammy’s human here–28.5 pounds is good for Darby. Cardigan girls should be between 25-30 pounds, and Cardigan boys between 30 and 35 pounds. Much more than that and they get fat. My biggest boy, Glacier is around 33-35 pounds, is 11 years old and still going strong. I am not a fan of Science Diet, but then I was around when it first came out and was developed for large kennels to decrease the amount of “poop” the kennel dogs left. Perhaps over the years it has improved. I have been feeding Purina ProPlan for years and my guys, shelties included have been living long healthy lives. Since you both have had good luck with Science diet, then go with what works for you. Just a note–be sure to check for soy products. Many Cardigans cannot tolerate soy.

    Sammy’s Human

    Reply

  3. Posted by Play it Again Sam on 02/25/2010 at 5:33 pm

    Hi, Sammy’s Mom again.

    Just to clarify, it is not that soy is bad for Cardigans, it is just that some Cardigans do not do well with soy products (as well as some of the other herding breeds). For example when ProPlan changed their formula they added soy and my cardigans either lost weight on it or didn’t want to eat it. So many breeders where unhappy with the new formula that Purina brought back the old formula without soy, and now they are all happy as clams.

    Sammy’s mom.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kiki on 02/25/2010 at 9:12 pm

    Hey Bud-
    I love the pics. What I like even better is all the language. You know what all those words mean. That is very impressive for someone so young.

    You are looking very handsome as you walk down the trail. I is funny that your silly side doesn’t show. Maybe that only comes out when you play with Luke?

    Dude, please don’t mention the conversations about weight around Luke. I know they mean well but if Luke weighed 35 lbs he would be way too skinny. He is a very healthy 45 lbs but we don’t want to give him a complex. After all, his head is much bigger than yours. If the human head weighs 8 lbs I wonder what a dog head weighs? Maybe 10 lbs?

    Luv to you and your person.

    Luke’s People

    Reply

    • Posted by Play it Again Sam on 02/26/2010 at 1:15 pm

      Hi Luke’s Human,

      This is Sammy’s mom. Being a breeder of the wonderful Cardigan, the weight numbers come from the breed standard. These weights are for cardigans which fall uner the height standard which is 10.5 to 11.5 at the shoulders. If Luke is taller than that, then of course, he could carry more weight. The reason I am careful about weight is to prevent back problems. The Cardigans that I and my partner breed are long and low so any extra weight could put pressure on their spines and could cause difficulty for them as they age.

      If Luke looks, feels, and acts healthy at his weight–then that is the weight for him :-).

      Sammy’s mom

      Reply

      • Posted by itsmebuddy on 02/26/2010 at 4:22 pm

        Hi! Sammy’s Mom,
        It’s me Buddy’s person. You are so sweet to help us. Buddy is our 6th family corgi over the years and we keep trying to get it right. This is one of the most magnificent breeds I have ever seen. We’ve loved them all and they have lived long lives but we did some things wrong because we didn’t know better. I want to be sure that I do it right with Buddy. Our other corgis came from a breeder here in our area. They were great corgis but she wasn’t as approachable and helpful as you have been. We are very grateful. I have loved them all. Especially Beau my Blue, but Buddy is right up there with Beau. He is smart (very)and funny! I think that is why he is so naughty sometimes. He has brought joy into our family. Everyone loves him. Thank you! I thought he would probably be my last one, but we’ve found you, I think he should have a puppy one day.

        Thanks again,
        Becky

  5. Posted by melissa on 02/26/2010 at 2:49 am

    Hey Sammy’s and Buddy’s moms–thanks for the talk about food. For now I am going to stick with Purina ProPlan chicken and rice. I told Sammy’s mom that I don’t give them other stuff except for a few treats and apples, carrots and sweet potatoes. I do mix cooked chicken and plain ground beef in with their food now and then for variety. I also cut up those big “chubs” of Natural Balance dog food into tiny pieces and sprinkle some of those on the food sometimes. I think variety might be good for them–as long as it isn’t too drastic and is healthy. I tried sardines and salmon and neither of them would eat the fish and not even the kibble that had been touched by the fish! Interesting, huh?

    If you all have recommendations for healthy, safe chews for VIGOROUS chewers, I’m all ears. (Get it–all ears? Just like our fur-kids!)

    Darby’s Mom

    Reply

    • Posted by Play it Again Sam on 02/26/2010 at 4:01 am

      Hi, Sammy’s mom here: You can try bully sticks, which are made from all beef (I won’t tell you what part of the bull :-)) However, be forwarned, they do stink. I also go to the meat counter and order beef femur bones. I usually have to ask them to cut them as they are pretty long, but they a good hard bone for them to chew on. (do not get any pork bones) The marrow is pretty good for them too, but can be pretty rich, so it might have some effect on their gastro-intestinal tract (meaning their poops). I stay away from rawhide chews as most are not made in America and you don’t know what kind of bacteria/other stuff might be in them. Plus when they get soft, they are too easy for cardigans to swallow whole and possibly choke on.

      Any Kong type toys are good too–plus some can have treats put in them which occupies them for a while.

      Reply

  6. Posted by Kiki on 03/01/2010 at 4:26 pm

    Hello All-
    Thanks for all the great info. Luke’s People love him very much and want to always do the best for him.

    Just so you know, Luke is very secure in his Corgi-hood. We had a long talk, and we measured him. He is 13.5 at the shoulder and feels quite good for his age. (LOL)

    Seriously, thank you for all of the wonderful information. I love to tease Buddy whenever I get the chance. But, Luke is sure he is fine and will live up to his part of our deal. (HE has agreed to out-live me.)

    Hope to chat with everyone again soon. And, who knows, Luke may need his own puppy !!

    Thanks for the great information.

    Luke’s People

    Reply

Leave a Reply

