Our Family Corgi History!

Our first corgi was a brindle named Brandy.  He was a show dog and had taken Best of Show in the puppy class.  He was destined  for greatness but, alas, he bit a judge.  We were able to adopt Brandy when he was 9 months old.  He knew he was special and always behaved in that manner.  He took good care of the girls when they were small.  They loved him so much.  We always felt safe with him around.  He would position himself between strangers and the girls until he was told it was okay.  He was loyal to all us but he loved my husband best.   He lived 16 years and was always magnificent.

Brandy!

     This is Beau Diddley, my blue boy.  When the family went to get a corgi, Beau hid under the parrot cage.  The breeder was not very proud of him.  He was a skittish dog from the beginning.  But I really fell in love with him because he needed someone.  The first thing he did when we brought him home was run away.  We found him sitting at the neighbor’s patio door where he had spent most of his puppy life at his other home.  He was 2 and half months old.
 The family  thought he should go back right away but I really wanted him so they gave in.
 He was a marvelous dog but his skittishness never got better except with me.  He loved the family in his own way and was a great watchdog.
They learned to love him.  He is a precious memory to all of us.

Beau

When the light of my life became ill, Beau never left him except to relieve himself or eat.  He allowed no one in the bedroom except with family permission.  When my darling man could no longer stay, Beau mourned with us.   He seemed to age during this time.  Christmastime my daughter wanted a puppy so we surprised her with the Love Bandit ( a big beautiful  red).  Beau took over right away and seemed to heal .  When my daughter left home, she didn’t have the heart to separate them.  Bandit was Beau’s puppy from the beginning.    Beau slept on the bed every night.  When he reached the last days of his life he slept by the doggie door.  He had never had an accident in the house and we felt he wanted to make sure he never did.  After Beau passed, Bandit looked for him every day as I did.

Bandit

Always Together

Now there is another corgi in my heart who has a special place of his very  own.

It's me, Buddy!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by melissa on 03/06/2010 at 2:50 am

    How fun to read about the dogs who came before Buddy. I have to admit to a fondness for your first friend, Brandy, because he was a brindle like the Darbs with a “dog bone” (as my husband calls it) of white on his face, and Bandit because I like tri-colored dogs–he looks tri to me.

    Dogs! What sweet companions they are! If only they lived longer than they do!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Play it Again Sam on 03/07/2010 at 7:51 pm

    What a nice group of cardigans. They never do live long enough do they. Right now I have a 13 year old, 2 that are 11, 2 that are 9 and 2 eight year olds, in addition to the youngsters. My two remaining shelties are 14. I lost one sheltie at 15 1/2, and one at 16 1/2. I sometimes wonder which is harder, losing them when they are very young, or very old. Doesn’t matter, losing them is just plain hard.

    Sammy’s human

    Reply

    • Posted by itsmebuddy on 03/11/2010 at 3:30 am

      Oh! how lucky you are to have so many wonderful corgis with such long lives. They sure are wonderful aren’t they?! So smart, so good-looking…

      Buddy’s person

      Reply

  3. Posted by Kiki on 03/09/2010 at 10:20 pm

    Hey Bud-
    Thanks for the walk down memory lane. I sure do love all those dogs. Just to set the record straight, Brandy was my dog. I know for a fact that he loved me best!! And what a great baby pic of the ole Beau!! He was always a striking guy but I had forgotten how cute he was as a babe.

    Anyway, Luke is heartbroken that he wasn’t included. I told him he was in good company since Jesse doesn’t appear on the site either. He doesn’t care. Good thing he can’t hold a grudge.

    Love to you and your person.

    Luke’s People

    Reply

Leave a Reply

