It’s me Buddy..If every day could be like this one!

The sun was shining, the wind was crisp and the smells were marvelous. If only everyday could be perfect like this one.

 

 

This is my friend, Princess Tori Von Pernickel! We run into each other every once in awhile on the trail.

This is my friend, Princess Tori Von Pernickel! It's a good day when we run into her and her human on the trail

 

We played...

and played!

It was a great day for a walk!

We have to enjoy these days of sunshine and cool walks because we talked to the horse lady and it’s getting time for rattlesnakes.  She saw one on her path down to the horses.  I am not afraid of rattlesnakes, I don’t think.  Of course, I’ve never seen one but I’m sure I would not be afraid. My motto,  It’s me Buddy! Hear me roar!  Alas, my person is not as brave, so we are thinking of agility training and sidewalk walking for awhile.  Boring!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by melissa on 03/11/2010 at 2:57 am

    I love sunflowers! What a pretty walk you had.

    I think you should be afraid of rattlesnakes–but my two old dogs weren’t. One day I heard a funny noise–I wouldn’t call it rattling, but close, and looked out the patio door to see the two dogs dancing around something. Pouncing in close, then jumping back. Sure enough! It was a small rattlesnake! I herded the dogs into the house and caught up with the snake as he (she?) slithered through the grass. I tried to kill it with a shovel, but just missed it twice and then it got mad and coiled up and started striking in my direction! I called a neighbor who came and took care of it for me. His name is George and until he and his wife moved away I called him George the Snake Slayer (Dragon Slayer–get it?)

    My friend who lives across the freeway from us–about 2 miles away caught a 6 foot long one on her patio! She caught it in a snare and managed to get it into a trash can to wait until her husband dispatched it. She and her husband have had their dogs rattlesnake trained; they routinely see rattlers where they live right up against the rocky foothills. Another friend who lives in this neighborhood came home to find a 5 footer curled up in her sunroom–she left the door cracked to let her mini-doxi in and out.

    So, it sounds like your human is wise to be thinking about agility and sidewalks!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Play it Again Sam on 03/11/2010 at 2:16 pm

    Hey Buddy,

    Stick with agility and sidewalk walking. Trust me. If my face swelled up the size of soccer ball when a bug bit me, what do you think a snakebite will do? I don’t think you want your human to be put under all the distress of her Buddy being bitten by a snake–do you huh, huh? Or have to go to the vet and STAY THERE! because you are so sick. Besides agility can be a lot of fun, you get to run and jump, and go through tunnels and up dogwalks and all kinds of good stuff.

    Stay away from those rattlers–

    Your brother Sammy.

    Reply

  3. Posted by itsmebuddy on 03/11/2010 at 4:35 pm

    Thanks! Sammy! I’ll take your advice. Your human and Darby’s human sound like they have had some experience with this. I’ll sure miss the freedom of those long walks. Next week is warming up so this will be my last week. Sigh!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kiki on 03/11/2010 at 6:31 pm

    Hey Bud-
    Remember, no leashes with agility. You get to run free!!
    Besides, the warm weather doesn’t last forever. Your special park will still be there next winter!!

    I love the pictures!! Sounds like another day in paradise. And Princess seems like a nice friend. I think you are partial to Labs. Coco will be jealous!!

    Love to you and your person!!

    Luke’s People

    Reply

Leave a Reply

