It’s me Buddy…how the garden grows!

This sidewalk walking day, we stopped to admire a beautiful “wilderness yard” . The owner was outside and took time to talk to us. It was fantastic! She has little paths, benches, fruit trees and an array of color in the greenery.  I was very busy with all the wonderful smells but she often stopped and pointed out edible flowers, plants, and fruit trees. My person was amazed.  We were invited to visit her backyard.  She let us take pictures! They don’t even begin to show the beauty or convey the peacefulness.

 

Lots of wild flowers.

 

Take a second look!

Very peaceful place.

All this beauty and edible too! My kind of place.

Thank you for sharing, neighbor.  This neighbor will be speaking on edible flowers at the Lavender Festival in June.  Worth Googling! We are seriously thinking of trying  to wilderness up our back yard instead of desert and gophers. There are so many nice people in this world. Thanks for visiting my blog!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kiki on 05/17/2010 at 8:43 pm

    Hey Bud-
    I have been so busy I misse several blogs. I love the foil incident. I can appreciate that you want to cover the bone and digging is not a fun thing. Luke uses old leaves. But as you know, when you come over they are easy to find. Please don’t tell him about foil. I will never be able to throw it away again.

    The garden is lovely. I would really enjoy sitting in your back yard if it looked like that one. I think you are quite the Mr. Rogers of your neighborhood. Good for you!!

    Thanks for the break and the chuckle in my day, I need it!!

    Love to you and your Person-
    Luke’s Peeps

    Reply

  2. Posted by Melissa in El Cajon, California, USA on 05/18/2010 at 3:35 am

    Buddy, you and your human sure get around! And in such lovely places. You were good to restrain yourself and not eat anything. Darby and Bonnie haven’t been being as good. I have a lovely ground cover rose bush called “Popcorn” and it appears it tastes as good to the girls as popcorn does to me, because now that they have denuded our hill of sweet alyssum, the rush over to the rose bush and eat the flowers and the buds! Unlike most of the other bushes, this one is like them: short. So, they can reach it!

    I noticed you are lying in the shade. Darby always heads for the shade. Bonnie often lies in the sun. Her dark places aren’t as dark as Darby’s and certainly not as dark as yours. That’s the difference, I’ll bet.

    Take care, Bud!

    Darby’s human.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

