It’s me Buddy…Coyotes! Yikes!

Yes! I said coyotes!

My personal assistant tried for a picture, once I was safe, but she was a little shaken up!

From this time forward, this will be know as coyote crossing! See the high trail and the bushes. The coyote came down right there with another one behind us. My person's screaming scared me more than the big thing that looked like a big dog! But I got lots of treats for coming back really fast!

Not sure what will happen now! Those darn snakes kept us off the mountain all summer! Now we have to worry about coyotes. The horse lady says to just keep me on a leash. I guess that’s better than not visiting the mountain at all. My person is very diligent about watching me. She really, really loves me. She ran at that coyote screaming and throwing things.  We are going to look for ways to keep them away.  Any suggestions? Other than not going on the mountain! We really love the mountain!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Melissa in El Cajon, CA on 10/30/2010 at 2:16 am

    Oh, wow! I thought it was scary enough to see them right on the other side of the chain link fence (which is, we believe too high for them to jump because they would first have to run straight up quite a hill.) But, to encounter a couple on the trail, I can only imagine how scary that was. I wonder if pepper spray is a good thing to carry with you?

    Reply

    • Posted by itsmebuddy on 10/30/2010 at 3:25 am

      Pepper spray sounds like a good idea. We just hate to give up our walks in the mountains. We were coming down from the top trail. It is probably wiser to stay lower where you can see a distance all around. I wasn’t scared until I got Buddy safe but pretty shakey after that. I’m so glad he runs to me when he hears “good boy” even if it is only for a treat.

      Reply

  2. Posted by George The Lad on 10/31/2010 at 7:57 pm

    Hi Thanks for stopping by my bloggie, Happy Hallowoeen to you
    See Yea George xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

