It’s me Buddy…and the Bear’s first walk? (if can call it a walk!)

The Bear is 13 weeks old. From what we can discover from the puppy books, puppies can go on a walk 5 minutes for every four weeks of age. We worry a lot! (not me, but my Personal Assistant!) So we decided on about 5 – 10 minutes actually on the ground.  No asphalt or cement walking! So we carried him to the mountain path and let him down. He wore a collar (this makes me wonder if he’s a corgi!) and a leash for a couple of minutes and then stayed with me for the rest of the time. We then took him home and put him in his playpen for a nap. AND THEN I GOT TO GO FOR A WALK IN THE MOUNTAIN!  It is very green! Lots of yellow flowers! It was great!  

6 responses to this post.

  1. Such a beautiful view! JF didn’t wear a collar until I got him at 13 weeks. He tolerated that, but planted his fanny firmly on the ground and refused to walk on the lead. 😦

    Reply

    • Posted by itsmebuddy on 03/13/2011 at 10:24 pm

      Do you use collars to walk your boys? I use a gentle lead harness on Buddy. He allows me to put it on. My other boys would wear harnesses not collars except for one. He would walk shoulder to shoulder with the other but refused to walk on a leash. Of course, it was a different time for us. It didn’t occur to us to do puppy training!

      Reply

      • Yes, they wear flat, nylon buckle collars only when outside. We don’t have a fenced yard, so it was a necessity to get them used to the collar and lead right away (the puppy training class did help with that). I know some pups are much harder than others to get collar and lead-broken.

  2. Wowzers! Such a huge open space to play in! I would so love that. 🙂 🙂

    Woofs & hugs,

    ~Bailey

    Reply

  3. So much to explore! Bear must have loved his first walk!

    Reply

  4. We’re so jealous of Buddy and Bear’s beautiful mountain….what a great place to walk!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

