It’s me, Buddy, and Bear and our Personal Assistant …Guess what we found out…

Dear friends and family:  We, of course, are always flattered when linked to and visited by blogging  friends. However, we recently found out that our pictures are being posted on another site without having any affiliation with our blogging. This is not right!

How many other sites might have done this without permission and for what purpose? SCARY! We consciously use very few personal pictures of friends and family because of this concern. We always ask and try never to identify with usable information. So needless to say we were shocked. Therefore, you will see a copyright statement on the blog now. Not probably a good fix but at least a start for now.

My concern is that it might appear a little ostentatious to our friends. We aren’t noticed as blogs go. It has always been just the opportunity to share love of our pets and that of other pet lovers. Isn’t it a shame that we have to go to such lengths to protect ourselves.

Bailey, tell your people how much we thank them for sharing the information with us!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Wow! What a shame. You guys are so darned cute it isn’t hard to believe someone would want to steal your photos, but that someone would actually do it, is another thing! Thanks for the heads up.

    Reply

  2. Oh wow…well, it happened to a friend of ours too and her herding picture. Not to mention it was the worst photoshopping job EVER!

    Reply

  3. That is too bad.

    Reply

  4. Yeah, I can’t believe how people even find my blog to steal from, let alone the nerve of just plain stealing. My blog is on that website, too. LOTS of my pictures under chroniclesofcardigan.com (which isn’t even my domain name). I guess at least they posted links for all of the photos and in no way altered them, but they are screwing with search engines, trying to redirect all of our blog traffic to their site.

    The internet is a big, big place, so I guess thinking everyone plays by the rules is just naive.

    Reply

    • I’m so sorry that it happened to you. I checked today and the pictures won’t link back but they are still there. Giving them the 72 hours to take the pages down.

      Reply

  5. Thanks to Bailey, I found our blog was also compromised. I’ve had the hot-link removed, but there are still many, many of our blog friends still being linked illegally. I’m in the process of notification now. You weren’t on my list, so I’m assuming you’ve had yours removed.

    Reply

    • Posted by itsmebuddy on 06/16/2011 at 11:04 am

      Hi! I hope so. I can’t find it anymore except the URL but it doesn’t connect.

      Reply

  6. Hi Buddy, Bear & family! I am so glad you were able to get your pictures removed. My mommy wants to know if the title you mentioned is an image or just text? Can you send her the URL of the page it’s on so I can show her?

    It’s good that we were able to find this website, but mommy is afraid that there are more out there like it. I told mommy I’m gonna keep my puppy eyes out for them!

    Big woofs & hugs to all of our friends!

    ~Bailey

    PS — there’s NOTHING wrong with putting a copyright notice on your images… they’re YOUR images! All photographers put (c) on their works. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Hey B&B… did you see? That bad site was taken down. 🙂 🙂

    Woofs & hugs,

    ~Bailey

    Reply

  8. Happy woofs & weekend hugs! 🙂

    ~Bailey (Yep, I’m a girl!)

    Reply

  9. Hope you’re all having a happy and safe 4th of July!!

    Woofs & hugs,

    ~Bailey (Yep, I’m a girl!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

