Walkin’

Cesar

This is Frankie’s new brother! He’s just come to his forever home!

This is Frankie! He lives on the mountain with horses, Sasha and Sarah! We love Frankie! He’s cool!

coyote

Did you hear that? Listen! That’s a coyote!

rabbit

Buddy, I’m sure that’s a coyote!

7 responses to this post.

  1. I don’t think I could have me dogs off-leash if coyotes were around. They would very definitely give chase! The fox in my area already drives them nuts!

    Reply

    • Posted by itsmebuddy on 12/17/2012 at 2:33 pm

      Agreed! We’ve only had one up close with Buddy but he always stays with me. The Bear might give chase. That’s why we walk the bottom of the mountain (foothills) in the open away from bushes and rocks and never during rattlesnake season. We carry an airhorn and whistle which the boys have learned to respond to. They are learning to stay close. 99.9% of the time they will wait on command when another dog is near (or jogger). I worry but they love it so much and we meet so many nice people and well behaved dogs. We try to stay alert! We have some foxes but I have never seen them in the hills mostly on the UCR campus. Dog parks around here have so many untrained dogs running loose. They scare me worse that the coyote.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Little Miss Pudgy Paws on 12/16/2012 at 8:45 am

    Thursday morning I was feeding the ducks and geese at dawn, and there was a very surprised looking coyote about twenty feet away. He dropped the duck that he was carrying and disappeared. Behind our house, on the other side of a beautiful, small, lake, is an designated open space area. I have heard them yipping every night. My three are going crazy from the very remtoe possibility that they could go get ’em. Wild week around here. Rebecca & LMPP

    Reply

    • Posted by itsmebuddy on 12/17/2012 at 2:36 pm

      Sounds like you live in a lovely place.

      Reply

      • Posted by Little Miss Pudgy Paws on 12/17/2012 at 3:09 pm

        It is lovely. But not at all fancy. Moderate family homes, but since they were built in 1960 the yards are huge in an area that now builds big houses six feet apart. (Temecula, CA. ) I think we are not far from you. I wouldn’t trade my little lake for the fanciest house around. The geese and ducks provide the dogs and I more entertainment than I could imagine. And since I don’t drive, things would get very boring without it. I had no idea that geese and ducks were so individual. It has been three years and the same gang is still here. Of course they all have names and each has their own quirks. Who would have figured?
        Rebecca & LMPP

  3. Posted by itsmebuddy on 12/17/2012 at 5:41 pm

    You are very close. It is a very nice area. Remember when it started to grow.

    Reply

    • Posted by Little Miss Pudgy Paws on 12/17/2012 at 9:07 pm

      I have only been back in Southern California for about three years. But if you want to talk about change, I lived in Mission Viejo from 1969 to 1972. And my father lived a mile away at El Toro Marine Base in 1941. Aparently, future shock comes in all generations. I am just so pleased to be living with a 10,000 sq ft lot, and a cute little lake with my feathered friends, as well as my fur family. I have always been a dog person and grew up with Cocker Spaniels, Beagles, Boston Terriers, Schnauzers, and mutts. But nothing could have prepared me for what awaited me when I moved in with my young daughter. My first exposure to a Corgi, (Little Miss Pudgy Paws) has bowled me over. How could there be so much personality packed into one crazed fur ball. I can’t believe how quickly I decided that this “big dog with no legs” was the cutest and funniest dog in the world. (I fear that I have wandered into the land of TMI). I really enjoy the chronicals of Buddy and Bear and always look forward to your posts.
      Rebecca & LMPP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

